You are here

New County Council seated and officers elected, Green Party of Los Angeles County (2020-2024)

New GPLAC Officers, Elected April 26, 2020
(L-R: Mike Feinstein, Secretary; Timeka Drew, Co-coordinator; Ajay Rai, Co-Coordinator; Doug Barnett, Treasurer)

The newly elected County Council of the Green Party of Los Angeles County held its first meeting on April 26, for the 2020-2024 term.

In Los Angeles County, Greens are elected to the County Council from State Senate Districts

Five Greens were elected to the County Council from State Senate District 26, after qualifying for the ballot in March 3 elections -- Mike Feinstein, Annie Goeke, Ava Kermani, Cordula Ohman and Linda Piera-Avila. 

These five appointed five more to unfilled seats - Danielle Mead in District 26, and Doug Barnett, Marla Bernstein, Timeka Drew and Ajay Rai in State Senate District 30.

Drew and Rai were chosen as GPLAC Co-coordinators.  Feinstein was chosen as Secretary, and Barnett as Treasurer

In response to the COVID-19 crisis, the new County Council voted for the GPLAC to join the #HealthyLA Coalition-- a network of more than 300 Los Angeles County advocacy organizations, worker centers, labor unions, service providers, religious congregations, community groups, affordable housing developers, public interest lawyers, public health and safety organizations, and others uniting to propose concrete solutions and lobby local governments to address the many hardships caused by the COVID-19 pandemic

Also in response to the crisis, the County Council voted for the GPLAC to become a signatory to the "Black Los Angeles Demands in Light of COVID-19 and Rates of Black Death”

There are 44 seats in total on the County Council. Appointments can be made to the other vacancies.

The list of current county council members and vacant seats is here


Theme by Danetsoft and Danang Probo Sayekti inspired by Maksimer